Crazy Landlady

You know when you meet someone and you think ‘good god, they’re crazy!’ Well I am lodging in the house of someone who is genuinely crazy. There are many things this woman has done, but I am moving out on Saturday because she’s gone a bit too far in her craziness. Here are some examples of weird things she does:

  • She hid all the kitchen/bathroom cleaners in the garage and requested that I clean the house with washing up liquid.
  • She talks to herself all the time. It’s like a running commentary on her daily activities.
  • She believes her son, hospitalised for schizophrenia could be possessed by a demon and/or driven crazy by the meds the hospital are giving him.
  • She thinks this because 20 years before he was even born, she used an ouija board.
  • Yes, I am quite serious.

That’s just a few of the weird things she does, just to exemplify why I am moving out. The last straw came yesterday morning when she came into my room to use the dehumidifier and saw that I had my own little radiator, which I was using just in the morning to take the chill off the room. She only allows me to have heating at certain times, basically when it suits her, and she went barmy.

She asked me no less than 5 times ‘what is the power usage on this’, I said I didn’t know. She then deduced that approximately 6 hours of use costs £50 (for any Americans reading that’s almost $90), which is ridiculous, and she demanded the money from me.

That night, I handed her my notice letter to say I was moving out. I was polite about it, we’re both adults after all (I am 29, she is 60). She said ‘oh good,’ in a tone that suggested she would probably want me to leave regardless. She then began telling me off about how ‘sneaky’ I was having that radiator in there (as if I needed permission), and then said I was ‘stealing electricity’ from her by having it. She then literally freaked out saying ‘have you been touching my radiator settings, you haven’t been touching the radiator settings have you?’ (what she means by radiator settings is basically, the little knob on the side of the radiator where you can turn it up or down – no big deal. They were set to full, and all I ever did was turn them down if it got too warm, but nothing more).

And now? She literally won’t speak to me, won’t be in the same room as me, won’t even look at me and she keeps talking about getting her money back.

When she came into my room to get the dehumidifier, she made a comment about my room looking ‘grubby’ and about how she’ll have to clean it. Let me explain this. I keep this room PRISTINE. It’s cleaner and tidier than the rest of the house, I’m quite the neat freak, especially when I know that the room I’m in isn’t technically my own. Anyway, I do my cleaning on the weekends, and last weekend I got busy/distracted and forgot, so I thought ‘oh well I will do it this coming weekend’. She said ‘I paid a fortune for this carpet, I am going to clean it later’.

So later, after I had handed her my notice to leave the property, she calls into my room to see if I am there. When I said yes, she replied with ‘oh, never mind, I thought you were out, I was going to come in there and clean the room.’

WHAT.

Firstly, that wench has no legal right to enter the room without a) 24 hours written notice and b) my permission to do so. However, she’s always in and out of this room when I am not here because she left two giant wardrobes full of her shit in here when I moved in. Secondly, we’re both adults, as I mentioned, so why not just request politely and maturely for me to clean it? I already had done, I should add. The room was fine.

She’s quite the control freak, and I tell you I was anxious to be left alone with her after all that. She has literally switched gears on me. The woman has no clue how the world works or anything, it’s ridiculous. She has serious problems.

I had my dad round after handing her the letter. Basically when I let him in, she came out of the living room, stood in the doorway and just STARED at me and my dad from the moment I opened the door until I shut the door to my bedroom. She was giving us the filthiest look on the planet, as if I was some kind of rampant scum. I was so livid last night I was practically shaking. Who acts like that!?

Sorry for the long post, I had to get that off my chest. I am a patient, tolerant person. I’ve been putting up with her intrusive, weird ways for several months without a peep, and I was hoping to go with a modicum of calm and maturity, but she’s turned it into this awkward bitch-fest because I am a sneaky, grubby electricity-stealing weirdo. Apparently.

Leave a Reply

