Keeping Up

It’s tough to keep up the pace when you have a full-time job, a part-time degree, a social life and other responsibilities. But somehow, we manage. I’m feeling quite organised of late; I’m way ahead on my studies, for example, which is awesome.

I decided yesterday to go back to the gym. I went in 2010 5 days a week for about four months, and whilst I lost a little weight from the diet I was on, my fitness levels didn’t improve, and I didn’t build any muscle. How? Because I went to the gym for 90 minutes and didn’t push myself enough. I’m older and wiser now, and I know that if I do 45 minutes of intense workout, I’ll save time and get fit quicker than if I breeze through it for an hour and a half.

Going back to the gym does mean going early in a morning before work (I won’t go after work, it’s full of posers and too many people) but it’s not so bad. I’m due in work at 9 and the gym is round the corner, so I figure if I arrive at 7:30am, do a 20 minute warm up, 20 minutes of either cardio or strength depending on the day, followed by a quick 5 minute cool-down walk on the treadmill, I can be showered and dressed by around 8:50, giving me ample time to hoof it to work.

I start going on Monday 29th October (may as well start at the beginning of the week) after I’m paid, and I plan to be there Mon-Fri with weekends as rest days. That works fine for me.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. skybluewithdaisies
    Oct 18, 2012 @ 10:59:33

    its a big commitment, which i am terrible at. there are a few people at work who really just make it their lifestyle, like eating and breathing… i admire them. Have fun and all the best to you! (-:

    Reply

    • Rachel
      Oct 18, 2012 @ 15:21:08

      Thank you! Yes I know a few insane people who go on their lunch hour. Craziness. I couldn’t do that. I either spend it studying or watching silly nonsense on YouTube 😀

      Reply

  2. skybluewithdaisies
    Oct 19, 2012 @ 10:42:49

    lol… that’s when i usually squeeze in my workout (if you can call it that)… we have one treadmill at work, i change, i walk/run 20 min, lift weights for 5, shower, get dressed up again, shovel my lunch down, and get back to work. exactly one hour. not fun, not ideal. Your videos are fun! have a nice day Rachel.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

